Play Open

EK-WASRA Becomes Affiliated Member of the Regional Association of Eastern and Southern Africa Water and Sanitation.

The Ekiti State Water and Sanitation Regulatory Agency has been incorporated as an affiliated member of the Regional Association of Eastern and Southern Africa Water and Sanitation (ESAWAS)

The State Commissioner for Infrastructure and Public Utilities, Prof. Mobolaji Aluko made this known in a press chat in Ado Ekiti.

Aluko stated that although Nigeria is in West Africa, being part of this Eastern/Southern Africa regional network of water supply and Sanitation WSS) Regulators would create a peer opportunity to build and enhance the capacity of members towards delivery of quality and effective regulations on water supply, in order to achieve public policy objectives through cooperation and mutual assistance.

He explained that the EK-WASRA was an autonomous Regulatory Agency established by WASH Law in 2021 with the objectives of regulating the activities of water supply and sanitation service providers with view at ensuring the provision of safe, reliable, and sustainable WASH services in Ekiti State.

Also speaking on the development, the General Manager of the Ekiti Water Supply and Sanitation Regulatory Agency, Engr. Ayodele Osalade commended the State Government for the efforts put in place to ensure the development and the functionality of the Agency, which has been of help in achieving a number of goals, which include: procurement of water quality testing equipment, testing kits and reagents, implementation of water safety advocacy campaign, and development of regulatory documents.

Osalade assured that the EK-WASRA would continue to take the lead in positive reforms, adding that the being admitted into the Regional Water Supply and Sanitation Association as a welcome development that will provide the agency with access to invaluable resources, including capacity building programs, technical assistance, and a network of peers dedicated to improving water and sanitation services in our dear state.

He listed the 14 members of ESAWAS to include: NWASCO-Zambia, AURA-Mozambique, WASREB-Kenya, IRSEA-Angola, EWURA-Tanzania, WASAMA-Malawi, AREEN-Burundi, DWS-South Africa, RURA-Rwanda, ZURA-Zanzibar, LEWA- Lesotho, WURD-Uganda, DWS-Botswana, and Ekiti State Water and Sanitation Regulatory Agency (EK-WASRA), Nigeria.

Posted in Ekiti State News Bulletin
All posts

Write a comment

Ministry of

The official Website, Office of Ekiti State Ministry of Information

Contact Us

+234 8160768195

© 2023 EKSG – Ministry of Information . All Rights Reserved.